The Catch All

The news of Team Love’s Live Shudder to Think album spread quickly last week with Brooklyn Vegan, The Sentimentalist and Groovevolt all chiming in…..Parasites and Sycophants have some news on the new Simon Joyner album out Sept 15. Grand Jury prize winner at the 2009 Slamdance Festival Hayley Morris has directed a new video for Joker’s Daughter. Check out her prize winning short here. Edea has created a new Tilly and the Wall fan group and is looking for members; sign up here. In related news, video director Alan Tanner who made the wonderful Pot Kettle Black video for Tilly is interviewed over at Full Circle Stuff. Moonage share some thoughts on the Felice’s recent show in Kentucky. An auction of signed Felice goods is taking place currently at Take this Bread. And finally, The Athens Blur Blog have picked the Felice Brothers as their artist of the day. Sweet.

Simon Joyner – Out into the Snow

outintoTeam Love will release Simon Joyner‘s twelfth full length LP Out into the Snow on September 15, 2009 on CD and 180 Gram LP.

The album will be available for pre-order the first week of August and will ship two weeks prior to the street date. Until then, check out an MP3 of “Roll On,” from “Out into the Snow”.

MP3 Simon Joyner – Roll On


Out Into the Snow is another challenging and rewarding song-cycle which grows richer from repeated listening. For this outing Joyner has assembled a small group, including Alex McManus (Lambchop, Bright Eyes, The Bruces), Ryan Kennedy, Mike Friedman, Michael Krassner (Boxhead Ensemble), and Chris Deden, as well as background vocals by Sarah Gleason and Pearl Lovejoy Boyd and string arrangements by violinist, Laraine Kaizer. Sounding sometimes like Doug Yule era Velvet Underground (with some Paris 1919 John Cale thrown in for good measure), On the Beach period Neil Young , Happy/Sad era Tim Buckley, and Our Mother the Mountain period Townes Van Zandt, the album is littered with characters in transition, moving toward or away from complicated pasts and futures.

Here you have a man floating away in a dilapidated drunken boat borrowed from Rimbaud. He escapes a past of imagined persecution, only to face deeper problems of self-identity after entering a storm at sea. There are lovers separated by distances difficult to summit. Others survive rocky starts to find peace, acceptance, and the real joy available to those who may have been born to run but now choose to stay and fight. The title tracks seems to be telling a simple story of friendship, but, after a man is called out on a winter night to rescue a friend in need, he goes to bed that night and has strange transformation dreams that lead him to question the direction of his own life. Stepping out into the snow then becomes a metaphor for engagement and risk. Joyner seems to be saying that life is full of these worthwhile struggles, whether they result in sorrow or mirth, pleasant or unpleasant discoveries. Joyner requires the same of himself artistically. Out Into The Snow is full of gorgeous human gestures from well-developed characters rising and falling in overlapping arcs of time. Brazen songwriting, like all great art, challenges even more than it entertains. Team Love is proud to introduce another milestone performance from Simon Joyner, perhaps the greatest songwriter you’ve never heard.


Shudder To Think has announced they will release Live From Home, their first ever live album, on September 15. In the fall of 2008, ten years after the band’s breakup, Shudder To Think reunited in response to overwhelming requests from old and new fans who had either been ardent fans since their first release or those who discovered them after their breakup and had been too young to see them on their last tour. Shudder To Think embarked on a limited number of tour dates during which the band delivered some of the most compelling and potent shows of their career. Shudder To Think’s lineup for these live recordings was: Craig Wedren, Nathan Larson, Kevin March, Jesse Krakow and Mark Watrous. The best of the band’s live shows can be found on Shudder To Think’s new album Live From Home to be released via Team Love on September 15. See track listing below.

Shudder To Think continues to be as important and other-worldly today as they were when they released their first independent single, ‘It Was Arson’ in 1988. With Ten-Spot, their first Dischord Records release in 1990, Funeral at the Movies in 1991 and Get Your Goat in 1992, the band continually mystified and exhilarated their fans with music, and style that pushed the boundaries of what a band from the hardcore punk scene could look and sound like. In 1994 Shudder To Think signed to Epic Records and released their opus Pony Express Record, an album still considered one of the most groundbreaking and influential albums of our time. The band expanded their palate to include scoring films, and fused their angular intensity, with a cinematic depth and beauty which has gone on to inspire many young singers and song writers.

Craig Wedren/Shudder To Think – “Live From Home documents our 2008 tour, and features me (Craig Wedren) on vocals/guitar, Nathan Larson on guitar, Jesse Krakow on bass, and Mark Watrous on guitar. Now that’s a lot of guitar, which you can hear and feel f’real, even if you weren’t at any of the shows. We think Live From Home does a slam-bang job of representing, and in some cases toppling altogether, a lot of the original recordings. ‘About Three Dreams’ is a particular favorite, and I think we may finally have gotten a solid version of ‘Day Ditty’ down for the lovers. We feel that these songs transcend time and trends, and we hope that they’ll feel as fresh to you as they did to us when we played them again last year, for the first time in over a decade.”

Live From Home tracklisting:

1.       dialogue

2.       Red House (from the albums Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot/50,000 BC)

3.       Shake Your Halo Down (from Get Your Goat)

4.       Dialogue

5.       Hit Liquor (from Pony Express)

6.       Love Catastrophe (from Get Your Goat)

7.       Lies About the Sky (from Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

8.       Jade Dust Eyes (from Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

9.       Gang of $ (from Pony Express)

10.     She Wears He-Harem (from Get Your Goat)

11.     Rag (from Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

12.     Pebbles (from Get Your Goat)

13.     9 Fingers on You (from Pony Express)

14.     No. Rm 9 Kentucky (from Pony Express)

15.     Call of the Playground (from 50,000 BC)

16.     Chocolate (from Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

17.     X-French Tee Shirt (from Pony Express)

18.     dialogue

19.     About Three Dreams (from Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

20.     dialogue

21.     Day Ditty (from First Love Last Rites/Funeral at the Movies & Ten Spot)

The Catch All

Pop Headwound, The Needle Drop and Parasites and Sycophants all chime in with excitement and anticipation for the new Simon Joyner album coming Sept 15. There Goes the Fear and Drowned in Sound have posted a nice reviews of Joker’s Daughter as it sees it’s UK release. Horder provide some background and cool photos of Tilly. Musical Soulmate felt the urge to list the 10 best albums of the first half of 2009 and Felice Brothers come in at #2. Finally, here is a fun post dating back to CMJ 2005, back
before cameras had auto-focus. Congratulations are in order for Jamie and Derek of Tilly and the Wall who are having a baby! Meanwhile, Derek tells the world how he likes his coffee.