New Tilly & the Wall album “Heavy Mood” coming this October!

Following an eventful four years which found Tilly & the Wall rising to the national stage with appearances on ‘Sesame Street’ and ‘90210,’ the beloved quintet returns with a fierce new album, ‘Heavy Mood,’ out October 2 on Team Love. Produced by Mike Mogis and featuring collaborations with Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Clark Baechle (The Faint) and Shane Aspegren (The Berg Sans Nipple), ‘Heavy Mood‘ is the band’s most adventurous album to date. Listen to the explosive lead single “Love Riot” here:
[soundcloud id=’51157829′ comments=’false’ color=’#ff00e2′]

Heavy Mood‘ was written and recorded over a period of life changing events for all five members; Derek Pressnall, Jamie Williams Pressnall, and Kianna Alarid Cameron got married and all three had kids, while Nick White and Neely Jenkins moved to Los Angeles (Nick joined his friends’ band The Young Veins and Neely moved to LA to teach yoga, and began teaching online classes for Taiwanese students).

Mirroring this change, the ten new songs of ‘Heavy Mood‘ explore new musical palettes without losing the exuberant spirit that launched their acclaimed debut album, ‘Wild Like Children.’ By blending their signature stomps, taps and hand claps with electronic beats, using electric guitars to build thicker walls of sound, and embracing a fearless approach where love and aggression equally thrive, Tilly & the Wall make ‘Heavy Mood‘ their most eclectic album to date. The in-your-face title-track “Heavy Mood” embodies their playful spitfire, while the reverb-drenched “Baby Guns” attacks with Spector-like production and harmonies. The haunting ballads “I Believe In You” and “Let Go” shift into electro-pop, while album closer “Defenders” epitomizes their new vision: “Absolute freedom is to be unafraid, fearless,” says Kianna Alarid.

Tilly & the Wall made their late night TV debut on ‘Letterman’ behind their sophomore album, ‘Bottoms of Barrels,’ and, since the release of 2008’s ‘O,’ Tilly’s breakout singles- “Beat Control” and “Pot Kettle Black”- have been featured in countless blockbuster movies (‘Whip It!,’ ‘Observe and Report’, etc.), major network TV shows and commercials. More recently, the group sang on She & Him’s ‘Volume 2’ single “In The Sun.”

Stay tuned for the release of the “Defenders” music video, US tour dates and more.

Tilly & the Wall are:
Kianna Alarid Cameron
Derek Pressnall
Neely Jenkins
Nick White
Jamie Williams Pressnall

Heavy Mood‘ Tracklist:

  1. Love Riot
  2. Heavy Mood
  3. All Kinds of Guns
  4. Static Expressions
  5. Thicker Than Thieves
  6. Hey Rainbow
  7. I Believe In You
  8. Echo My Love
  9. Youth
  10. Defenders

Tilly and the Wall on the Web:!/OfficialTATW